Handel Festival Japan





Handel’s Solomon, composed within one and a half months in 1748, is one of the richest oratorios of the master with regard to orchestral and vocal forces. The thirteen choruses of the piece, some of them written in eight parts for double choir, mark the high point of Handel’s art of composing monumental music for choirs.

Designed less as a dramatic story and more like a sequence of musical pictures the oratorio gives a portrait of the biblical king Solomon known for his wisdom and sense of justice, his wealth and clever government. The first act shows him in his marital bliss, the second in his judiciousness and the third in his material wealth. In the centre of the piece one can experience Handel’s musical version of the famous judgement of Solomon: “Two women each claim the same child; to identify the real mother, Solomon suggests splitting the babe in half, to which the true mother objects” (David Hurley).

Solomon has been interpreted as a contemporary allegory for Great Britain as the chosen people and the English kings as the ideal rulers; but in fact it is much more than that, the oratorio offers a grand and timeless allegory of mankind living in peace and harmony, a harmony that is best symbolised by music – Solomon is Handel’s most powerful vision of a better world still to come.

In its utopian content this masterpiece is best suited for encouraging the idea of international understanding and universal peace. No wonder that this oratorio is one of the favourite pieces of the president of the International Handel Society. So I wish on every visitor of this year’s Handel Festival Japan an inspiring and striking encounter with Handel’s Solomon and its idealistic message.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschman
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschmann President of the Georg-Friedrich-Händel-Gesellschaft e.V., Internationale Vereinigung; Chair of the Department of Musicology, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschman
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Hirschmann
大学教授・音楽学博士  ヴォルフガング・ヒルシュマン

ヘンデルの《ソロモン》は、1748年に1か月半にも満たない短期間に作曲されたものですが、オーケストラと声楽の迫力という観点において、この巨匠のもっとも贅沢なオラトリオだということができるでしょう。本作中の13の合唱曲は、8つの声部による二重合唱曲が複数含まれることからも明らかなように、 壮大な合唱曲におけるヘンデルの作曲能力の到達点を示すものです。

本作品は、劇的な物語としてではなく、あたかも音楽による連作絵画のように構成することで、知性と正義感あふれる人格と、裕福にして賢明な統治をもって知られる聖書中の王ソロモンの肖像を描き出しています。第1幕では幸福な結婚、第2幕では知恵、そして第3幕では物質的な富が示されるのです。また作品中盤では「2人の女性がともに同じ子供を我が子だと主張していた。ソロモンは、どちらが本物か特定するために、赤子を半分ずつ分ければよいではないかと提案した。すると、実の母だけが異議を唱えた」(ヘンデル研究者David Hurleyによる)という、かの有名なソロモンの審判を、ヘンデルの手による音楽をもって体験することもできるのです。